You can lead a horse to water…

May 2, 2008

Potty training is not something I look forward to.  To be honest I keep putting it off simply due to my own laziness.  I came up with a fabulous argument as to why I will start it with him sometime around fall.

 

Mikey had other plans yesterday….

 

As his blue potty sits behind our toilet gathering dust he decided he wants to go on the big potty.

 

It was cute, he sat on it still in his diaper and then Ella, his cousin wanted to try.  They were clapping and cheering for each other.  So before bed time I decided to test the waters and asked him if he would like to go potty on the big toilet.  He said “No, I potty in tub”

 

So we had a talk for about the 100th time that we do not go potty in the tub.  Then I pulled out the big guns and bribed him.  I told him if he sits on the big toilet he will get chocolate.  Didn’t even have to ask him twice.

 

He’s such a trooper.  He sat there for a few minutes and tried really hard to go but obviously didn’t have the need to do that.  At one point he even said, “Help me pee mommy”

 

Once again Mikey has proven to me that he knows when he is ready for something and he always comes around.  That is why I’m not going to switch his crib to a toddler bed until he lets me know he is ready, and that is why I will not throw out his pacifiers until he does it himself.

Leave a Reply

