Louder please

July 17, 2008

We went to Baskin Robins the other day, 31 flavours of ice cream and the kids always get the blue or the orange.

The kids don’t care much for the ice cream to be honest.  They love to the take the ice cream cone and feed the little birds.  Mikey has gotten really good at scaring the crap out of them.  He drops a bit of the ice cream cone, waits…and then runs at the bird screaming like a wild animal.

There’s a Tim Horton’s next door and one of the employees was eating his/her lunch.  (The reason for the dash..I honestly couldn’t tell, really)  She/he had the nerve to turn to our kids and tell them “Knock it  off”  I guess he/she was referring to their joyous laughter and squealing.

You’re not at a black tie restaurant, you’re outside an ice cream store.  That is one place where not many people would be expecting for kids to sit quietly.

If we are at a restaurant or anywhere else, I am the mother that will take my screaming two year old to finish off his tantrum in the ladies washroom.  But outside the ice cream store he can be as loud as he pleases.

So I did what I think a lot of people would do in my situation.  I called Mikey over and asked him to scream as loud as he can at the birds…and then Ella joined in.  2 two year old screaming and squealing at the top of their lungs.  One rare time where it was music to my ears.

3 Responses to “Louder please”

  1. Tracey said

    You are too funny. Honestly…quiet kids at an ice cream shop? Wonder what sheman was thinking!?!?

  2. Danielle said

    Too much. What the heck is wrong with people when they don’t let kids be kids. I probably would have had to say something to her directly, you are nicer than I…

  3. Kathy said

    Ha-ha that’s funny. Something I would totally do too.

Leave a Reply

